North Shore CC logo
2020 Results Page

2020 Prize-giving night

2020 Trophy winners

Pictured (L-R): Dante Soriano, Yaoyuan Zhang, Lifan Tim Zhang, Zachary Yu, Ceferino Isaac, Daniel Johns, Felix Xie, IM Paul Garbett, Ralph Hart, and Neil Gunn.
Club Champion: IM Paul Garbett
B-Grade Club Championship: Zachary Yu & John Pakenham
C-Grade Club Championship: Lifan Tim Zhang
Rapid Champions: Ralph Hart & Felix Xie
Lightning Champion: Ralph Hart
Summer Cup: IM Paul Garbett
Most Improved Player: Felix Xie
Junior Club Championship: Yaoyuan Zhang

Lightning Championship

1st: Ralph Hart
Full results on Vega: Lightning Championship

Junior Club Championship

1st: Yaoyuan Zhang
Full results on Vega: Junior Club Championship

Rapid Championship

Joint Champions: Ralph Hart and Felix Xie.
Full results on Vega: Rapid Championship

Club Championships, July-November

Club Champion for 2020 is IM Paul Garbett.
Full results: A-Grade round robin on Vega: A-Grade
B-Grade Champions are Zachary Yu and John Pakenham.
C-Grade: Lifan Tim Zhang.
D-Grade: Dante Soriano.
Full results: B-Grade/C-Grade/D-Grade Swiss on Vega: Swiss

ACA Junior Interclubs and ACA Lightning Teams (A and B Grade)

ACA Junior Interclubs
Date: Sunday 1st November 2020. 9:30am start.
Venue: Lyell Creek lounge, Alexandra Park.
Format: 4 players per team. Time control will be Rapid (probably 15 min + 10 sec increment).
Age eligibility: players must be under 14 before 2020, i.e. born on or after 1st January 2006. Junior Club members who can use a clock are welcome!
Full results on Orion: ACA Junior Interclubs
North Shore A-team came second - on tiebreak by a tiny margin! Jeffrey Yu was best player on Board 3,  while on Board 4 William Liu (of our C-team) was best player, Emily Gan (of the B-team) 2nd, and Zachary Yu (of the A-team) 3rd=.
ACA Lightning Teams 2020: A and B Grade
Date: Sunday 15th November 2020. Players’ meeting 9am.
Venue: Auckland Chess Centre, 17 Cromwell Street, Mt Eden.
Format: 4 players per team. Time control 3 min + 2 sec increment.
B-grade players must be under 1800 in the NZCF Standard and Rapid rating lists.
Results: North Shore A-team came second (Howick-Pakuranga won the A-Grade) and North Shore B-team came 4th (Counties won the B-Grade).

National Interschools Finals 26-27 September

The National Finals went ahead in Level 1 Bay of Plenty while we were still in Level 2. In addition to teams that had managed to qualify over-the-board, various Auckland teams were invited on the basis of selection by the organisers. North Shore scored the following successes:
Bronze medals: Pinehurst School; Nicholas Xu, Jerry Yang, Shuntaro Nozaki, Ivan Wu, Richard Zheng
Board prizes: Board 1 Isabelle Ning (Kristin School) and Board 2 Kendrick Zhang (Kristin School)
Gold medals (and pictured below!): Takapuna Normal; Matthew Chen, Eddie Kim, Yitian Chen, Ruichen Wang, Bevis Jiang
2020 Intermediate Champions 2020 Intermediate Champions

Silver medals (pictured below): Westlake Boys' High; CM Richard Meng, Jeffery Yu, Pridiyathon Kulchayodom, Kevin Shen Su
2020 Secondary Silver Medallists

AGM Blitz, July 8th 2020

1st= Philli Park-Tamati & Felix Xie
3rd Andrew Li
4th= Allen Li & David Zhu
1st Eddie Kim
2nd Emily Gan
3rd Kevin Shen Su
4th Zachary Yu

Re-Opening Blitz, July 1st 2020

1st Felix Xie
2nd CM Richard Meng

Full results on Vega: Re-Opening Blitz

Summer Cup, February-April 2020

This was scheduled for 7 rounds but we had to call a halt after 5.
The winner was IM Paul Garbett, with 5/5.
2nd Ceferino Isaac, 4/5.

Full results on Vega: Summer Cup

Simul with GM Dejan Bojkov, 5th February

North Shore Chess Club hosted GM Dejan Bojkov for a Simultaneous Display. 34 players took part. Tony Carpinter benefited from a rare blunder by the GM, and won. Ceferino (Jun) Isaac also won. Daniel Johns scored half a point, and in the last game to finish, Lucas Yang also held the GM to a draw. Special book prizes were awarded to Allen Li (who had the GM on the ropes for a while) and David Zhu.

Hilton Bennett explains the rules.   Daniel Johns - draw agreed.   David Zhu makes his move.
Hilton Bennett explains the rules.   Daniel Johns - draw agreed.   David Zhu makes his move.
Allen Li...   ...yes, Black is winning here!   Tony Carpinter - fortunate to win!
Allen Li...   ...yes, Black is winning here!   Tony Carpinter - fortunate to win!
Last to finish, with a draw: Lucase
              Yang   Ceferino (Jun) Isaac was a winner!   The last game is
Last to finish, with a draw: Lucas Yang   Ceferino (Jun) Isaac was a winner!   The last game is finished!

Match: Secretary's Team vs Treasurer's Team

This annual event usually features the President's team but the President stepped aside to even up the numbers. It should be noted that the President picked the teams on the basis of internal ratings; the Secretary was not involved! The result: 6-3 for the Secretary's team.

  Secretary's Team   Treasurer's Team
1 Antonio Krstev 1 : 0 Ceferino Isaac
2 Philip Hair 0 : 1 David Evans (Treasurer)
3 Daniel Johns (Secretary) 1 : 0 Andrew Li
4 Allen Li 1 : 0 Matthew Chen
5 Paul Kamberi 1 : 0 Sean Myers
6 Richard Aylett 0 : 1 Nate Williamson
7 Zachary Yu 1 : 0 Brian Winsor
8 Brendon Kamberi 0 : 1 Emily Gan
9 Jerry Yang 1 : 0 Peter Zhou
    6 : 3  

Lightning Tournament, 22nd January 2020

1st= David Evans and Daniel Johns
Full results on Vega (please note that the colours and the order of rounds are not necessarily correct, as the Vega file was constructed after the event).
Lightning Tournament

2023 Results

2022 Results

2021 Results

2020 Results

2019 Results

2018 Results

2017 Results

2016 Results

2015 Results

2014 Results

2013 Results

2012 Results