North Shore CC logo
2018 Peter Stuart Memorial

August 25th-26th 2018 - Peter Stuart Memorial, Auckland.

We renamed the North Shore Open to commemorate Peter Stuart.

Peter Stuart
A class 1 Grand Prix event, with three 5-round swiss sections, all FIDE and NZCF rated (where possible).
Prize fund: $2250.
1st= Evan Capel (Malaysia) & FM Mike Steadman
3rd FM Ben Hague
Flukey 1.c4 Upset Prize: Winston Weng for his draw v. Gino Thornton
(Donated by Stephen Lukey, barrister, in appreciation of years of friendship and encouragement from Peter)
Rating u2000: Antonio Krstev & CM Benjamin Lim
Rating u1850: CM Alex Nagorski, Juni Aguilar (Philippines), Philip Hair, CM Richard Meng, & Xinyang Liu
1st= Erwin Koestanto (Indonesia) & Brett Rider
3rd Euan McDougall
Rating u1600: Nigel Cooper & Felix Xie
Rating u1460: Philli Park-Tamati
1st= Ravi Lakshmi & Edward Ashworth
3rd Jay Zi Xuan Zhao
Age prizes: Grown-Up - Ying Wang
Born 2001-2006: Kevin Shen Su
Born 2007-2009: Thomas Zheng
Born 2009 or later: Pasindu Jayawickrama (Sri Lanka)

Full results on Vega: Open; B-Grade; C-Grade.
More photos: see the NZ Chess News Facebook

Michael Whaley, long-time friend of Peter Stuart, spoke a few words at the prize-giving and then presented the prizes. He told us that Peter's brother and sister were very pleased to hear about the re-naming of this event in Peter's memory.

Mike Steadman, Evan Capel & Michael Whaley   FM Ben Hague & Michael Whaley   Winston Weng & Michael Whaley
Winners FM Mike Steadman & Evan Capel with Michael Whaley, who presented the prizes   3rd FM Ben Hague   Flukey 1.c4 Upset prize: Winston Weng
Michael Whaley & Antonio Krstev   Philip Hair, Alex Nagorski, Richard Meng & Michael Whaley   Brett Rider, Erwin Koestanto, & Michael Whaley
Grade prize: Antonio Krstev   Grade prize: Philip Hair, CM Alex Nagorski, & CM Richard Meng   B-Grade winners: Brett Rider & Erwin Koestanto
Felix Xie & Michael Whaley   Philli Park-Tamati   Ravi Lakshmi & Edward Ashworth
Grade prize: Felix Xie   Grade prize: Philli Park-Tamati   C-Grade winners: Ravi Lakshmi & Edward Ashworth
Pasindu Jayawickrama & Michael Whaley  
Age prize: Pasindu Jayawickrama  

North Shore CC is grateful for sponsorship from ChessNews.Asia through NZ Chess News.

New Zealand Chess News

2023 results here.

2022 results here.

2019 results here.

2018 results here.

2017 results here.

2016 results here.

2015 results here.

2014 results here.

2013 results here.

2012 results here.